Call the library @ (252) 985-5350
Email the library @ reference@ncwu.edu
Subscription Databases
These databases mainly cover from the 1980's - present. Click on the "i" for more information.
Web Resources
NC Newspapers
The purpose of Elephind.com is to make it possible to search all of the world’s free digital newspapers from one place and at one time. A work in progress.
A project that will, over a period of 3 years, provide more than 18 million newspaper pages to the EUROPEANA service.
Search or Browse issues of old newspapers. Google has since abandoned this project of digitizing old newspapers, but the ones done are still available.
Newspaper Digitization Projects. Links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers. The focus is primarily on digital conversion efforts, not full-text collections of current news sources.
From Wikipedia; some free, some behind a paywall.
1831-2009. Current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers. You can search our digital archive of newspapers published between 1831-2009, or find information on over 200 newspaper titles in the National Library's microfilm collection.
ca. 1803-1995 Exact dates vary by newspaper
Australian newspapers online
The National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. The NDNP helps bring together the digitized newspapers that are part of the LC's Chronicling America online newspaper collection and digital collections of individual states.
The NDNP site includes a search engine for newspaper photos in the Chronicling America collection called Newspaper Navigator. The collection can also be accessed at Chronicling America.
Many states have their own digital newspaper collections, often developed in tandem with the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP); access points for individual state online collections are below. This list may not be complete, and, states that have partnered with the NDNP, but that have not developed their own separate collections, are not included here. This list is divided by region:
Not actually a digitized newspaper collection, but a list of digitized newspaper collections within the state.
NDNP partner.
From the State Library of Pennsylvania.
From Penn State University Library. This project is the state's NDNP partner.
NDNP partner.
This is the DigitalNC project. For other NC newspapers, see the other box on this page. NDNP partner.
NDNP partner.
NDNP partner.
NDNP partner.
NDNP partner.
NDNP partner.
NDNP partner.
Not a digitized newspaper collection, but a list of digitized newspaper collections within the state. NDNP partner.
NDNP partner.
More than one million pages of digitized historic newspapers and trade journals. The titles are organized into four distinct collections: the Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection (Illinois newspapers); Farm, Field, and Fireside (Midwestern farm newspapers); American Popular Entertainment (entertainment trade journals); and Collegiate Chronicle (college newspapers). Browse the newspapers by date, or search by keyword across articles, advertisements and photo captions. The site includes interactive features allowing users to tag articles, correct OCR text, and share on social media. NDNP Partner.
The Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey was published in 1942 by the Chicago Public Library Omnibus Project of the Work Projects Administration of Illinois. Its purpose was to translate into English and classify selected news articles appearing in the Chicago area foreign language press from 1861 to 1938. The project consists of a file of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago.
Includes a directory of digitized Michigan newspapers hosted elsewhere. NDNP partner.
Includes a directory of digitized Minnesota newspapers hosted elsewhere (not all freely available). NDNP partner.
Not a digitized newspaper collection, but a list of digitized newspaper collections within the state.
Freely available through Newspapers.com. NDNP partner.
Collection does not overlap with Montana titles in Chronicling America.
Includes a directory of digitized Nebraska newspapers hosted elsewhere. NDNP partner.
NDNP partner.
NDNP parter, but this collection includes some titles not in Chronicling America, and Chronicling America includes some New Mexico titles not included here.
NDNP partner.
NDNP Partner.
NDNP partner.
NDNP partner.
NDNP partner.