Databases A-Z (Hover Over Icon for Database Description)
ABI/INFORM CollectionThis link opens in a new windowOffers nearly 3,900 full-text business titles like The Economist as well as country-and industry-focused reports and the Wall Street Journal
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Accounting, Tax, & Banking CollectionThis link opens in a new windowContains sources from current news to professional and academic journal articles that cover the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThe Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database covers topics including aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications.
American PoetryThis link opens in a new windowCovers the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century
Arts & Humanities DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowProvides online access to 400 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including art, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and others.
Asian & European Business CollectionThis link opens in a new windowCovers information on companies, economies, and markets as well as international trade and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.
Australia & New Zealand DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Australia and New Zealand.
Biological Science DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowIncludes research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science as well as access to MEDLINE.
BioOne CompleteThis link opens in a new windowContains more than 200 major journals in the field of biological sciences, most of which are in full text.
Business Market Research CollectionThis link opens in a new windowContains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowArticles spanning Canadian agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more, including scholarly content.
Canadian NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowOver 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.
Career & Technical Education DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThe definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 790 titles, with more than 700 available in full text.
CINAHL Plus with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowDatabase of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
Computer Science DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, gaming, networking, security, systems administration, and hardware.
Congressional RecordThis link opens in a new windowThe Congressional Record is a daily account of the business conducted by each chamber and their committees.
Consumer Health DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowIncludes over 350 full-text magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade publications and over 300 health video clips from INTELECOM.
Consumer ReportsThis link opens in a new windowPopular collection of product reviews and recommendations for cars, appliances, electronics, personal finance, and health information.
Continental Europe DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries.
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
CREDO ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowOnline reference library with 750+ reference eBooks
Criminal Justice DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowSupports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Data-Axle Reference Solutions (Formerly ReferenceUSA)This link opens in a new windowSearchable database with detailed information, including addresses and phone numbers, on more than 20 million businesses, 222 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, U.S. new homeowners and movers.
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970This link opens in a new windowDigital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in 158 North Carolina towns and cities across a century of change.
Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowProQuest’s atmospheric science coverage extends Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) by providing a sizable element of full-text access along with comprehensive discovery through the extensive abstracts and indexes structured using controlled vocabulary managed by expert editorial teams. For coverage of aquatic science, the collection features the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).
East & South Asia DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries.
East Europe, Central Europe DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries.
eBook CentralThis link opens in a new windowScholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhostThis link opens in a new windowThis collection has more than 60,000 eBook titles in various subject areas.
Education DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowIncludes over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education.
eLibraryThis link opens in a new windowThis easy-to-use curriculum and reference resource delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for schools and libraries of all kinds, as well as additional subject-based material.
Engineering DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides discipline-specific coverage of engineering, spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
English PoetryThis link opens in a new windowComplete English poetic canon from 600 to 1900
Entrepreneurship DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to key scholarship, tools, and resources to help entrepreneurs and students navigate the complex world of small business
ERICThis link opens in a new windowEducational Resources Information Center produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. Most of the content is available in full text for free.
Exploring Race in SocietyThis link opens in a new windowDesigned for undergraduate students, Exploring Race in Society contains proprietary essays that provide today’s students with a deeper understanding of how current issues stem from actions and policies of the past. Each topic includes an overview article and three essays suggesting potential solutions. Solutions essays are written by a diverse group of writers representing the fields of academia, journalism, medicine and other disciplines working to address issues related to race.
Faber Poetry LibraryThis link opens in a new windowCollection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century
Ferguson's Career Guidance CenterThis link opens in a new windowCareer database that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for resumes, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. Includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.
Films On Demand Video CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels. Also includes content formerly in the NC LIVE Video Collection.
Gale eBooksThis link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of online reference titles.
Gale Literary SourcesThis link opens in a new windowCombines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
Gale Literature Resource CenterThis link opens in a new windowArticles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
GreenFILEThis link opens in a new windowGreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Health & Medical CollectionThis link opens in a new windowIncludes biomedical content from MEDLINE as well as a core of premier scholarly journals in full text such as The New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, and The BMJ.
Healthcare Administration DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the healthcare industry including management, administration, regulations, policies, and planning.
HeinOnline Academic & FastcaseThis link opens in a new windowThis collection includes law reviews, academic journals, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports back to 1754, books from the 18th-19th centuries, all U.S. Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR, and constitutions for every country in the world. Also includes Fastcase, a leading next-generation legal research service that
features powerful “best-case-first” tools that make research faster than ever.
HeritageQuestThis link opens in a new windowTreasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
History Study CenterThis link opens in a new windowA collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.
Home Grown eBooks CollectionThis link opens in a new windowAn eBook collection of more than 1,200 fiction and nonfiction titles from eight North Carolina publishers.
India DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Indian Journals is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource providing full-text, scholarly journals, all published in India.
International NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowProvides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), Financial Times, The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowIncludes access to the Arts & Sciences I, Life Sciences, and Religion & Theology collections.
Latin America & Iberia DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
LearningExpress Library & PrepSTEP AcademicThis link opens in a new windowWhether they are looking to improve core academic skills, score higher on college placement tests, explore careers, prepare for occupational exams or build workplace skills, students can achieve their goals using PrepSTEP Academic.
Library Science DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text of leading library and information science journals. This collection provides full-text coverage of 125+ core titles.
Linguistics DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MasterFILE PremierThis link opens in a new windowGeneral reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes peer reviewed publications.
Materials Science DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThe collection contains materials science related full-text articles and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Materials Research Database.
Middle East & Africa DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries.
Military DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowIncludes over 700 publications, with more than 500 available in full-text and covers topics including international relations, political science, criminology, and communications.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowProduced by the Modern Language Association, this database contains millions of abstracts from journals and linked full-text when available.
Morningstar Investing CenterThis link opens in a new windowSource for information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds, exchange–traded funds, and college savings plans
NCJRS Abstracts DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThe National Criminal Justice Research Service contains summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
NC LIVEThis link opens in a new windowNC Libraries in Virtual Education is a searchable collection of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, electronic books, historical materials and maps covering a wide range of topics.
New York TimesThis link opens in a new windowFull articles from the New York Times (1980-current)
North American Women's Letters and DiariesThis link opens in a new windowWomen's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
NoveList PlusThis link opens in a new windowA readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.
Nursing & Allied Health DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowJournals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Open DissertationsThis link opens in a new windowThis free database searches more than 670,000 electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) from more than 25 universities worldwide.
Political Science DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowIncludes political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers
ProQuest CentralThis link opens in a new windowCombines 39 single databases into a large academic research resource with access to millions of full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals
ProQuest Learning: LiteratureThis link opens in a new windowFull-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.
ProQuest Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowGeneral reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
PsycARTICLESThis link opens in a new windowAccess to nearly 100 full text psychology publications covering from 1894 to the present
Psychology DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowCombines high impact full text from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications, with diverse sources of content including dissertations and training videos
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowIndexes abstracts from more than 2,500 academic psychology journals and also offers linked full-text to other psychology databases
Public Health DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowDelivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it in full text.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 34 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
Religion DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowHas over 200 full-text journals, over 150 with ongoing full text. Covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions
Research Companion (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowA cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.
ScienceThis link opens in a new windowScience has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.
Science DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowFeatures over 1,145 titles, with more than 965 available in full text; Covers hundreds of topics including physics, astronomy, biology, earth science, and chemistry.
Scite AIThis link opens in a new windowscite is an award-winning platform for discovering and evaluating scientific articles via Smart Citations. Smart Citations allow users to see how a publication has been cited by providing the context of the citation and a classification describing whether it provides supporting or contrasting evidence for the cited claim.
SIRS Issues ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowResearch the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
Social ExplorerThis link opens in a new windowVisualization and data-mapping tool with hundreds of thousands of data indicators and across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime and more
Social Science DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowProvides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, and sociology
Sociology DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowFull-text of more than 300 journals in sociology and social work; Covers topics including the history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThis link opens in a new windowThe online edition of the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Telecommunications DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowCovers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.
You need to create an account to use this resource.
Turkey DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Turkey.
U. K. & Ireland DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.
U.S. NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to US newspapers including The New York Times (from 1980), the Wall Street Journal (from 1984) as well as local NC newspapers from Raleigh, Durham, Greensboro, and Charlotte.
Wall Street JournalThis link opens in a new windowFull articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current)