LibGuides: ERS 141/142: Find Web Resources

Earth Science

Earth Science Information Partners Earth Science Information Partners (ESIP) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, volunteer and community-driven organization that advances the use of Earth science data through meetings and virtual collaborations around 30+ Earth science data related topics.
Earth Science World Education resources and image bank.
Global Volcanism Project from the Smithsonian Institution Includes lists of volcanoes by name and geographically, plus links to many other volcanology web pages, including Volcano World at the University of North Dakota and the USGS Volcano Hazards Program.
National Centers for Environmental Information (formerly NGDC) NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) hosts and provides public access to one of the most significant archives for environmental data on Earth. We provide over 37 petabytes of comprehensive atmospheric, coastal, oceanic, and geophysical data.
U.S. Geological Survey The USGS provides science and real time data about natural hazards (including earthquakes, volcanoes, landslides) and water, energy, minerals and other natural resources

Planetary Geology

NASA Planetary Data System The Planetary Data System (PDS) is a long-term archive of digital data products returned from NASA's planetary missions, and from other kinds of flight and ground-based data acquisitions, including laboratory experiments. But it is more than just a facility - the archive is actively managed by planetary scientists to help ensure its usefulness and usability by the world wide planetary science community.
USGS Astrogeology Science Center Serving the nation, the international science community, planetary scientists and the general public in the pursuit of new knowledge about our Solar System. t began in 1963 as a place to train the Apollo astronauts and continues today to be a premier center dedicated to study of planetary geology.
NASA Science Solar System Exploration Launched in October 1998, the Solar System Exploration website is a real-time, living encyclopedia of the robotic exploration of our solar system. It provides the public with reliable, accurate, up-to-date information about the planets, moons, asteroids, comets and everything else in our solar system. It also provides a complete historical record of deep space exploration.

Maps / Surveys

North Carolina Geological Survey Contains a wide range of links to information about minerals, resources, and general geology of the state, including geologic maps, mineral resource and geochemical information, topographic maps and digital products, and earth science education initiatives.
National Geologic Map Database From the USGS, information about maps and cartographic resources such as geologic maps, geologic names, earth science databases, and topographic maps.
USGS Publications Search The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 160,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.

Organizations

American Geophysical Union (AGU) Advancing earth and space science.
AGI Member Societies List of member societies of the American Geosciences Institute
American Geosciences Institute (AGI) AGI was founded in 1948, under a directive of the National Academy of Sciences, as a network of associations representing geoscientists with a diverse array of skills and knowledge of our planet. The Institute provides information services to geoscientists, serves as a voice of shared interests in our profession, plays a major role in strengthening geoscience education, and strives to increase public awareness of the vital role the geosciences play in society’s use of resources, resilience to natural hazards, and the health of the environment.
American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG) Created in 1963, the AIPG is the promotes geology as a profession, with more than 6,000 members organized into 36 regional sections.
Carolina Geological Society The Carolina Geological Society publishes guidebooks on the geology of the Carolinas. Under "Publications" you will find a list of their guidebooks and links to those available online.
The Geological Society of America Founded in 1888, GSA is an international society with more than 24,700 members, providing access to essentials for professional growth for all earth scientists
Society for Sedimentary Geology

Images

Earth Science World Image Bank A service provided by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI), the Image Bank contains over 6,000 searchable images and is designed to provide quality geoscience images to the public, educators, and the geoscience community.
Geology Photographs (Oberlin College) A collection of digitized photographs depicting natural features and the human impact on environments around the world.
NOAA Photo Library The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) photo library contains over 80,000 images that showcase the work of .

Open Access Journals

Open Access Journals in Earth Science

Atmospheric Environment: X
Atmospheric Environment: X offers authors with high-quality research who want to publish in a gold open access journal the opportunity to make their work immediately, permanently, and freely accessible.
Earth's Future
Earth’s Future is a transdisciplinary, Gold Open Access journal examining the state of the planet and its inhabitants, sustainable and resilient societies, the science of the Anthropocene, and predictions of our common future through research articles, reviews and commentaries.
Earth Interactions
This journal from the American Meteorological Society (AMS) particularly encourages submissions that address interactions among lithosphere, hydrosphere, atmosphere, and biosphere in the context of global issues or global change.
Earth & Space Science
Earth and Space Science is the only journal that reflects the expansive range of science represented by AGU’s 62,000 members, including all of the Earth, planetary, and space sciences, and related fields in environmental science, geoengineering, space engineering, and biogeochemistry.
International Journal of Applied Earth Observation and Geoinformation
From January 2020 International Journal of Applied Earth Observation and Geoinformation is an open access journal. Authors who publish in International Journal of Applied Earth Observation and Geoinformation will be able make their work immediately, permanently, and freely accessible.
Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems (JAMES)
JAMES publishes research related to a wide range of problems in climate science, including atmospheric and oceanic circulations on multiple scales; radiation, cloud physics, boundary layer, and land surface processes; the biosphere and cryosphere; biogeochemical cycles; and the development of numerical methods, model parameterizations, and data assimilation methods for Earth systems modeling.
Open Geosciences
De Gruyter offers this international, peer-reviewed journal publishing original research results from all fields of Earth Sciences such as: Geology, Geophysics, Geography, Geomicrobiology, Geotourism, Oceanography and Hydrology, Glaciology, Atmospheric Sciences, Speleology, Volcanology, Soil Science, Geoinformatics, Geostatistics. The journal was formerly known as Central European Journal of Geosciences - CEJG
Planetary Science Journal
The Planetary Science Journal is an open access journal devoted to recent developments, discoveries, and theories in planetary science. The journal welcomes all aspects of investigation of the solar system and other planetary systems.
Results in Geochemistry
Results in Geochemistry is an international open-access peer reviewed journal that publishes a wide range of original research papers on isotopic and elemental geochemistry, both organic and inorganic. The journal focuses on geochemical processes in the hydrosphere, biosphere, and lithosphere of the Earth, including but not restricted to igneous, metamorphic, and sedimentary petrology, low- and high-temperature aqueous solutions, biogeochemistry, the environment and cosmochemistry. The journal also welcomes papers on planetary geochemistry, applied geochemistry and paleoclimate.