LibGuides: Chemistry: Find Web Resources

Web Resources

American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation.
CAS Common Chemistry (search substances) CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes. This chemical information, curated by our expert scientists, is provided in alignment with our mission as a division of the American Chemical Society.
ChemExper.com (chemical directory) Find chemicals in the Chemexper Chemical Directory
Chemical Information Sources Wikibook Maintained by the ACS Chemical Information Division's Education Committee, it covers information on the publication process, chemistry guides, search strategies, current awareness, author and citation searching, subject, chemical name, formula, and structure searching, synthesis and reaction searching, physical property searching, science writing aids, chemical history, and careers.
Chemicalize (data, calculate properties, draw molecules) Calculate properties instantly, search chemical data, and draw molecules online. Free version has limited number of property calculations, paid versions available.
ChemSpider (chemical structure Db) ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources. Hosted by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
ChemSynthesis (database of chemicals) ChemSynthesis is a freely accessible database of chemicals. This website contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density. There are currently more than 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references in the database.
CIS/SIRCh: Selected Internet Resources for Chemistry Formerly called ChemInfo, SIRCh provides links to factual sources on the Internet where answers can be found to chemical questions.
EPA Substance Registry Services Find chemicals or substances. The Substance Registry Services (SRS) is EPA's authoritative resource for information about chemicals, biological organisms, and other substances tracked or regulated by EPA.
Green Chemistry Resources From the American Chemical Society Green Chemistry Institute, this site lists organizations involved with green chemistry, a set of education aids, including videos, and employment resources.
Name-Reaction (Organic Chemistry Portal)
Name-Reaction.com (Organic Reactions) Name-Reaction.com is aimed at educating chemists on organic reactions in an interactive, dynamic and easy to understand format in order to better visualize the abstract world of chemistry and facilitate learning
Organic Chemistry Portal The Organic Chemistry Portal offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists.
PubChem (Molecular Information) PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
Wolfram/Alpha (Information, Computations) Explore data about chemical compounds, the reactions they undergo, solubility and chemical graph theory. It also has information about chemical quantities, unit conversion, molarity calculations and stoichiometry.

Professional Associations

American Chemical Society
Information on the ACS including publications, software, symposia, & meetings. The Discover Chemistry tab includes videos, articles, infographics, and chemistry history resources.
The Electrochemical Society
The ECS focuses on solid-state and electrochemical science and technology. The site includes short courses, research groups, companies, publications, meetings, and awards.

Chemistry Conferences
Locate upcoming chemistry conferences.

Chemistry - Online Lab Simulations/Resources

Lab Simulations/Resources

GoLabz Online Chemistry Labs This website is part of a project that has received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation program.
Khan Academy - Chemistry Videos & More Chemistry videos, articles, and exercises by topic.
PhET Interactive Simulations - Chemistry (UofC-B) Default compatibility is for HTML5 - to view Java and Flash simulations check additional boxes under compatibility
WOLFRAM Demonstrations Project - Chemistry The Wolfram site has 12,000+ Open Interactive Demonstrations in the sciences and the liberal arts

Calculators, Constants, & Properties

American Elements Periodic Table The periodic table from American Elements provides basic technical data, safety data, properties, research, applications, and other useful facts about the elements. Information about compounds produced by American Elements also included.
Chemputer (interactive calculator) The Sheffield Chemputer can be used to calculate or determine: isotope patterns, element percentages, reaction yield, classification (VN, CN, ON, MLXZ, MLXZ ENC), VSEPR
CODATA Key Values for Thermodynamics A table of internationally agreed upon values for the thermodynamic properties of key chemical substances, produced by the International Council for Science, Committee on Data for Science and Technology.
Interactive Periodic Table (RCS) The Royal Society of Chemistry's interactive periodic table features history, alchemy, podcasts, videos, and data trends across the periodic table. Click the tabs at the top to explore each section. Use the buttons above to change your view of the periodic table and view Murray Robertson’s stunning Visual Elements artwork. Click each element to read detailed information.
Knovel Unit Converter Knovel Unit Converter is a tool which converts over 1,000 built-in measurements. Users can convert any unit of measurement to nearly any other unit in a few steps.
NIST Elemental Data Index From National Institute of Standards and Technology, Physical Measurement Laboraroy, the Elemental Data Index provide data and information about each element including atomic weight, ground state configuration, atomic spectra, ionization energy, X-ray and gamma-ray data, radiation dosimetry data, nuclear physics data, and condensed matter physics data.
NIST Fundamental Physical Constants This NIST Web site provides the values of the basic constants and conversion factors of chemistry & physics.
NIST Standard Reference Data For over 50 years, NIST has developed and distributed Standard Reference Data in Chemistry, Engineering, Fluids and Condensed Phases, Material Sciences, Mathematical and Computer Sciences and Physics.
Periodic Table of Videos From the University of Nottingham, short, informative videos about each of the elements in the Periodic Table of the Elements.
Spectra Base Curated by Bio-Rad Laboratories, SpectraBase contains "hundreds of thousands" of free NMR, IR, Raman, UV-Vis, and mass spectra. It can be searched by chemical name, synonym, CAS registry number, or InChiKey.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS Organized by the AIST, an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra: MS, 13C NMR, 1H NMR, ESR, IR, & Raman.

Molecular Models

ACD/ChemSketch Freeware Advanced Chemistry Development (ACD) ACD/Labs provides this chemical drawing and graphics software free for personal, home, and educational use.
Chemicalize (data, calculate properties, draw molecules) Calculate properties instantly, search chemical data, and draw molecules online. Free version has limited number of property calculations, paid versions available.
Molview Free, web-based software for drawing/modeling molecules.
The Orbitron Images, with animations, representing atomic orbitals and a few molecular orbitals.

Chemistry News

ACS Axial News, research stories from the American Chemical Society
ACS Discover Chemistry News, articles, videos, and other educational resources from the American Chemical Society
Advanced Science News This site has the latest science news across a broad spectrum of disciplines, from the publisher John Wiley & Sons.
Chemical & Engineering News (ACS) From the American Chemical Society, covering news, important research advances, business and policy trends, chemical safety practices, career guidance, and more.
Chemical Science (RSC) Latest research from the Royal Society of Chemistr (RSC). Open access since 2015.
Chemistry World (RSC) Latest news, research developments from the Royal Society of Chemistry
MRS Bulletin (Materials Research Society) MRS Bulletin is one of the most widely recognized and highly respected publications in advanced materials research. Each month, MRS Bulletin provides a comprehensive overview of a specific materials theme topic, along with materials news and features, industry and policy developments, and MRS and materials-community news and events.

Apps for Chemistry

Mobile Apps

The following chemistry apps are available for free! Information for download on Apple and Android devices are provided for each app below.

ACS Mobile

Search journal articles and read the latest news from the American Chemical Society.
FREE iPhone, iPad, Android

ReactionFlash

Learn Named Reactions, understand mechanisms, see examples from Reaxys® from Reed Elsevier.
FREE iPhone, iPad, Android

SciFinder Mobile

No special app needed. Simply login to SciFinder from your mobile device. Access here.

Merck Periodic Table of Elements

FREE, for iPhone and Android. Access here.

Other Apps

OpenScience Project
Directory of open source scientific software.