Before you search Google Scholar, select a library in the settings menu. Once you set and save your preferences, you will be able to link to NCWU library resources retrieved with a Google Scholar search.
1. Click the menu icon (3 bars) on the Google Scholar page.
2. Select Settings to choose up to 5 libraries.
3. Click Library links.
4. Type "North Carolina Wesleyan" or NCWC into the search box, click the search icon, select NC Wesleyan from the results, save your selection.
5. Now you are ready to search. In the search results, look for the Full Text from NCWC or NCWC library link.
Google Scholar can be a great resource, but it does not provide access to all available scholarly research. Make sure you are checking other resources, including the library's databases, when research a topic. Below are some FAQ's.
1. Is Google Scholar free?
No, not all the time. It is free to search and some articles are available for free, but Google Scholar includes many citations that link directly to publishers' web sites of which most will charge a fee for access. However, many of the these articles are available without cost to NCWU students, faculty, and staff through the library databases https://ncwc.edu/academics/library/. If the article is not available in our NCWC databases, you can request the article through our Interlibrary Loan service.
2. Why does the "Full Text from NCWC " link appear next to some items and not others?
Google Scholar displays this link after comparing the citation to a list of our electronic subscriptions. Keep in mind that Google Scholar may not have the most up to date list and it can not match an incomplete citation. If you are not seeing any Full Text from NCWC links, make sure you have linked NCWU/NCWC resources to Google Scholar in Settings (see instructions on this page).
3. How can I get the full text through the NCWU's subscriptions?
When using Google Scholar, try the Full Text from NCWC link as your first choice. If this link is not available, try other links that are displayed, as Google Scholar may find several sources for the same citation. When you are unable to find free access to full text through Google Scholar, use the appropriate databases in the NCWU library by accessing through the search box on the home page or going into individual databases via the Databases link on the library homepage https://ncwc.edu/academics/library/, or contacting us on Chat with a Librarian or calling us at 252-985-5350.
4. How comprehensive is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar searches open access materials, as well as items from many publishers, including some of the resources to which the NCWU library provides access. However, Google Scholar only searches a fraction of the published scholarly literature. Make sure that Google Scholar is not your only stop for research, and, remember to check our library databases as well.
5. How do I search by author, or limit to certain publications or dates?
Use Advanced Scholar Search which allows for author, publication and date range searching.
