Skip to Main Content

Archives & Special Collections

NCWU Archives Mission

North Carolina Wesleyan University Archives

Pearsall Library maintains the University Archives and several Special Collections that are housed primarily in two locations within the library: The Hardee-Rives Room and the Archives area. These collections contain materials to support the research needs of the college community and are non-circulating collections.

Mission Statement

The mission of the North Carolina Wesleyan University Archives is to collect, organize, preserve, and provide access to the records of the University that have enduring historical, legal, administrative, or fiscal value to the institution. The Archives serves as a repository for printed materials, photographs, manuscript collections, artifacts, and other memorabilia that relate to the history of North Carolina Wesleyan University. The materials held in the University Archives support the research needs of students, faculty, staff, alumni, and the public.

University Archives

The University Archives comprise many materials that document the history of the University including college catalogs, yearbooks, and newspapers. Some materials have also been digitized and are available online through Digital NC or on our website. These items include:

Speak to a library staff member, call (252) 985-5350, or email reference@ncwc.edu if you are interested in accessing the University Archives. 

NCWU - Brief Histories

Over the years, a number brief histories of NC Wesleyan University have been written; several of these are below as searchable PDFs.