Find Articles & More (Databases) - ENG 115 - Meador - LibGuides at North Carolina Wesleyan University

Looking for Literary Criticism(s)...

Literary Criticism

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database contains millions of abstracts from journals and linked full-text when available.

And These General Subject Databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Includes access to the Arts & Sciences I, Life Sciences, and Religion & Theology collections.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Combines 39 single databases into a large academic research resource with access to millions of full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals

More English / Literature Databases

For more library databases covering the subject of English/Literature click HERE.

Poetry Databases

African American Poetry This link opens in a new window Covers 1750-1900
American Poetry This link opens in a new window Covers the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century
English Poetry This link opens in a new window Complete English poetic canon from 600 to 1900
Faber Poetry Library This link opens in a new window Collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century
Twentieth Century African-American Poetry This link opens in a new window Features close to 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century
Twentieth Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window Includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets
Twentieth Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window Collection of more than 600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day

Database Search Tips

Best bets for search success:

Use keywords or key phrases instead of complete sentences
Put quotation marks around key phrases (like "social media" or "strength training") to get more accurate results
Use AND to combine keywords or phrases: "social media" AND "mental health"

For videos on searching specific databases:

Let me help...

If you start off by using the "TITLE OF YOUR SHORT STORY" and the "AUTHOR" you will be able to find scholarly articles and literary criticisms that will aid you in developing a strong thesis statement.

Try searching for the title of the story and last name.

Examples:
"black cat" AND poe

"story of an hour" AND chopin

Or title and first and last name:

"story of an hour" AND kate AND chopin

Summon / Databases A-Z

Two other ways to access articles and online library resources:

1. Search all our databases at once with Summon.

Summon provides a single unified search across journals, magazines, newspapers, eBooks, streaming video, images, and research guides. Note: it does not provide access to our physical collections; to find a print book or DVD, search the library catalog. For more about Summon and how to use it, click here.

2. Access individual databases

Databases A-Z

ENG 115 - Meador

Journal Finder

Library Help