Find Articles & More (Databases) - SOC 111 - Pericak - LibGuides at North Carolina Wesleyan University

General - For All Subjects

Databases with full-text articles on a variety of disciplines. A good place to start for almost any subject.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Includes access to the Arts & Sciences I, Life Sciences, and Religion & Theology collections.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Combines 39 single databases into a large academic research resource with access to millions of full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Warning: Only articles & journals with the "open lock" icon are available for use.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window Online reference library with 750+ reference eBooks

Find Sociology Articles

These resources are your first stop for sociology articles.

Sociology Database This link opens in a new window Full-text of more than 300 journals in sociology and social work; Covers topics including the history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window Provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, and sociology
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

Stand Alone Journal

Find Psychology Articles

These resources are your first stop for psychology articles.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Indexes abstracts from more than 2,500 academic psychology journals and also offers linked full-text to other psychology databases
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Access to nearly 100 full text psychology publications covering from 1894 to the present
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Combines high impact full text from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications, with diverse sources of content including dissertations and training videos

Database Search Tips

Videos on searching ProQuest, EBSCO, & JSTOR databases:

Best bets for search success:

Use keywords or key phrases instead of complete sentences
Put quotation marks around key phrases (like "social media" or "strength training") to get more accurate results
Use AND to combine keywords or phrases: "social media" AND "mental health"

Summon / Databases A-Z

Two other ways to access articles and online library resources:

1. Search all our databases at once with Summon.

Summon provides a single unified search across journals, magazines, newspapers, eBooks, streaming video, images, and research guides. Note: it does not provide access to our physical collections; to find a print book or DVD, search the library catalog. For more about Summon and how to use it, click here.

2. Access individual databases

Databases A-Z

SOC 111 - Pericak

Journal Finder

Library Help

General - For All Subjects

Find Sociology Articles

Find Psychology Articles

Other Useful Links

Database Search Tips

Summon / Databases A-Z