Find Articles & More (Databases) - HLP 311 / PSY 311 - Crowley - LibGuides at North Carolina Wesleyan University

Health Databases

These resources are your first stop for health related articles.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window Includes over 350 full-text magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade publications and over 300 health video clips from INTELECOM.
ERIC This link opens in a new window Educational Resources Information Center produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. Most of the content is available in full text for free.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window Includes biomedical content from MEDLINE as well as a core of premier scholarly journals in full text such as The New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, and The BMJ.
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of the healthcare industry including management, administration, regulations, policies, and planning.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window Delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it in full text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 34 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
Science Database This link opens in a new window Features over 1,145 titles, with more than 965 available in full text; Covers hundreds of topics including physics, astronomy, biology, earth science, and chemistry.

Stand Alone Journal

Social Sciences

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Education Database This link opens in a new window Includes over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window Educational Resources Information Center produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. Most of the content is available in full text for free.
HeinOnline Academic & Fastcase This link opens in a new window This collection includes law reviews, academic journals, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports back to 1754, books from the 18th-19th centuries, all U.S. Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR, and constitutions for every country in the world. Also includes Fastcase, a leading next-generation legal research service thatfeatures powerful “best-case-first” tools that make research faster than ever.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window Includes political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Access to nearly 100 full text psychology publications covering from 1894 to the present
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Combines high impact full text from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications, with diverse sources of content including dissertations and training videos
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Indexes abstracts from more than 2,500 academic psychology journals and also offers linked full-text to other psychology databases
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window Provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, and sociology
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window Full-text of more than 300 journals in sociology and social work; Covers topics including the history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more

Find Biology Articles

These resources are your first stop for biology & life science articles.

Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window Includes research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science as well as access to MEDLINE.
Science Database This link opens in a new window Features over 1,145 titles, with more than 965 available in full text; Covers hundreds of topics including physics, astronomy, biology, earth science, and chemistry.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.
Science This link opens in a new window Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.

Streaming Video Resource

Films On Demand Video Collection This link opens in a new window Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels. Also includes content formerly in the NC LIVE Video Collection.

General - Open Access

Bioline International Bioline International is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries. BI's goal of reducing the South to North knowledge gap is crucial to a global understanding of health (tropical medicine, infectious diseases, epidemiology, emerging new diseases), biodiversity, the environment, conservation and international development. By providing a platform for the distribution of peer-reviewed journals (currently from Bangladesh, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Egypt, Ghana, India, Iran, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda and Venezuela),

ERIC This link opens in a new window Educational Resources Information Center produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. Most of the content is available in full text for free.

Directory of Open Access Journals The Directory of Open Access Journals is a collection of free and open access peer reviewed/scholarly journals. All funding comes from donations, including sponsors, members, and publishers. Users are able to search for journals by title, subject, keywords, etc.
OMICS International- Open Access Journals OMICS International Open Access is a scientific organization that provides and promotes open access scientific information and research findings. It also includes conference proceedings.

Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window This free database searches more than 670,000 electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) from more than 25 universities worldwide.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 34 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).

SpringerOpen The SpringerOpen portfolio has grown tremendously since its launch in 2010, so that we now offer researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish open access in journals and books

General - For All Subjects

Databases with full-text articles on a variety of disciplines. A good place to start for almost any subject.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Includes access to the Arts & Sciences I, Life Sciences, and Religion & Theology collections.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Combines 39 single databases into a large academic research resource with access to millions of full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Warning: Only articles & journals with the "open lock" icon are available for use.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window Online reference library with 750+ reference eBooks

Database Search Tips

Videos on searching ProQuest, Ebsco, & JSTOR databases:

Best bets for search success:

Use keywords or key phrases instead of complete sentences
Put quotation marks around key phrases (like "social media" or "strength training") to get more accurate results
Use AND to combine keywords or phrases: "social media" AND "mental health"

Summon / Databases A-Z

Two other ways to access articles and online library resources:

1. Search all our databases at once with Summon.

Summon provides a single unified search across journals, magazines, newspapers, eBooks, streaming video, images, and research guides. Note: it does not provide access to our physical collections; to find a print book or DVD, search the library catalog. For more about Summon and how to use it, click here.

2. Access individual databases

Databases A-Z

If the Library Doesn't Have the Book or Journal You Need...

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If the Library does not have a book or journal you need, we can get it for you! Click the link above and complete an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form OR talk to a librarian and we'll help you find what you need.

HLP 311 / PSY 311 - Crowley

Journal Finder

If the Library doesn't have the book or journal you need...

Library Help