Industry Research - MKT 319 - Gil - LibGuides at North Carolina Wesleyan University

Industry Research for Marketing

Learning more about particular industries can be helpful when doing market research. Industry reports are a great way to get summary information for an industry as a whole. These reports can be found in ABI Inform, ProQuest Central, and free websites. You can supplement these reports with information in newspapers and trade magazines.

Industry Reports - Databases

ABI Inform/ProQuest Central are great first stops for industry reports. To search for Industry Reports, go to the Advanced Search, for Document Type select "Industry Report" and then search on your subject area or company.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers nearly 3,900 full-text business titles like The Economist as well as country-and industry-focused reports and the Wall Street Journal
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Combines 39 single databases into a large academic research resource with access to millions of full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals. Databases include: ABI/INFORM; Business Market Research Collection; Accounting, Tax & Banking; Entrepreneurship; Global News Wires, and U.S. and International Newsstreams.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries.

Popular Newspapers

New York Times This link opens in a new window Full articles from the New York Times (1980-current)
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current)

Websites with Industry Reports

Current Industrial Reports
The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program from the US Census provided monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity, including data on production and shipments of selected products. The program was discontinued in 2010.
ValuationResources.com
A free resource that covers more than 400 industries. For each industry, it includes overviews, key issues, trends and the industry's outlook as well as financial bench marking, compensation surveys and valuation resources.
International Trade Administration Office of Industry Analysis
Provides information including international statistics, industry analysis, competitiveness, trade data as well as recent reports and news about a number of different industries.
Industry Outlooks (Deloitte)
Deloitte offers industry prediction reports for state government, banking and securities, commercial real estate, energy and resources, insurance, payments, process and industrial products, renewable energy, retail and talent strategies industries
Yahoo Industry Center
Yahoo Industry Center has abrowsable Industry Index where you can find financial market data by industry, compare performance of top companies within an industry, and find news and top-ranked analysts.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Industries at a Glance
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor, includes reports on over 100 industries, organized by NAICS code or industry name, focusing on employment, labor, and trends.