Demographics - MKT 319 - Gil - LibGuides at North Carolina Wesleyan University

Demographic Data

Demographics or demographic data are the characteristics of a human population as used in government, marketing or opinion research, or the demographic profiles used in such research.

Commonly used demographics include sex, race, age, income, disabilities, mobility (in terms of travel time to work or number of vehicles available), educational attainment, home ownership, employment status, and even location.

Distributions of values within a demographic variable, and across households, are both of interest, as well as trends over time.

U. S. Data

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window The online edition of the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Gapminder Data available in excel with accompanying data graphics.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Visualization and data-mapping tool with hundreds of thousands of data indicators and across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime and more

StatsAmerica StatsAmerica provides actionable data for economic developers to use in site requests, developing metrics, grant writing and strategic planning. StatsAmerica is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business, which is ranked among the nation's top business schools.
US Bureau of Labor Statistics The Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.
US Census - Explore Census Data Access to data tables, maps, data visualizations, and other tools.
U.S. Census - Quick Facts QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

State Data

NC State Data Center
The State Data Center is a consortium of agencies cooperating with the US Bureau of the Census to provide the public with data about the state and its component geographic areas. The SDC lead agency is located in the Demographic and Economic Analysis Section of OSBM, where it provides extensive resources for retrieving statistical information.
USA States in Profile (StatsAmerica)
Find information on the demographic and workforce data for any of the 50 states. From StatsAmerica.org, from Indiana University's Kelley School of Business.

International Data

NationMaster NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources. Using the search forms, you can get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease. With data compared across 305 countries and over 5,000 specific categories to analyze, this site offers a wealth of information. Select 'countries' to view the list offered and see information such as: Cost of Living, Environment, Industry, Lifestyle, etc.
CIA World Factbook The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.
US Census Bureau - International Database The International Data Base (IDB) was developed by the U.S. Census Bureau to provide access to accurate and timely demographic measures for populations around the world. The database includes a comprehensive set of indicators, as produced by the U.S. Census Bureau since the 1960s. Through sponsorship from various U.S. Government agencies, the IDB is updated on a regular basis to provide information needed for research, program planning, and policy-making decisions, in the U.S. and globally.
Global Edge The globalEDGE Database of International Business Statistics (DIBS) contains over 5,000 variables from over 200 countries to aid in international business research. Access to the data requires free registration and is intended only for academic use by students, faculty, and researchers of educational or government institutions. From the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University, information on industries and demographics for consumers can be found. Find specific country by selecting from the drop-down box By Country.